Kawaii Adventures : Lolita Fashion

Somewhere in my Kawaii travels I came across a fashion style that I knew very little about, but immediately grabbed my attention.

Untitled1

It started when I found F Yeah Lolita, a blog about Lolita fashion. I knew that it was a Japanese fashion, focusing on being cute and sweet, with yes, some kawaii elements – but something about the cross between fun outlandish get-ups, and the genuine elegance and femininity about the culture (yes, culture!) of Lolita became very attractive to me. I wanted to find out more.

Untitled2

This post on building a Lolita wardrobe is especially useful and inspiring, and I went away immediately scouring Bodyline – an online clothes costume shop that stocks low price alternatives to the expensive designer Lolita brands. Below is an inspiration board I made a while ago of products I liked from the site, with gothic lolita in mind as my main style, with some elements of sweet lolita.

Image

Gothic has always been a fashion interest of mine, especially when dressing feminine. To be honest, I pretty much never dress feminine, and have never had much of an interest in it, but big black dresses with lace and corsets have always been hugely attractive to me.

tumblr_n1x69vWNMn1spnou3o9_1280

When I was about sixteen I found a dress of this description in a T K Maxx for £50 and my mum got it for me, probably just happy that I was enthusiastic about a dress for once. It had a corset top, with a big skirt that came half way down my shins, with lots of netting underneath. I got a lot of use out of it over the years! Eventually, I felt it had run its course and edited it for a ‘Kinky’ party in my first year of Uni. I hitched up the skirts so that it was more poofy, came to knee length, and showed off some of the netting. Starting to sound more familiar? It definitely has Lolita potential still, I feel!

tumblr_n1xq5zTsUF1ts1440o1_1280

Unfortunately, it doesn’t fit me so well these days, so I’m gonna work on editing it a bit into a skirt, maybe use the top part as a separate corset to wear over shirts… All depending of course on what from the dress is salvageable, and my sewing skills. I have been working on some sewing projects, which will be featured in another post – It’s coming along quite slowly though as I don’t have a sewing machine and am doing the whole thing by hand, whoop!

tumblr_mzbf2hNBow1ss0l6co1_500

I’ve spent the last couple of months lurking around lolita sites – Bodyline and FYeahLolita of course, but more importantly community sites like the ELG (Elegant Gothic & Lolita) Livejournal. It’s already taught be a lot about how Lolita works as a fashion, the different styles and brands, what’s acceptable and what’s iffy! I feel I should get more into this is other posts, so for now I’ll start at the beginning with some Bodyline items that I like and hope to purchase one day!

I’ll be focusing on Gothic Lolita for now… some Sweet influences to be featured to a later post!

Gathered High Waist Corset Skirt

dress1     Blouse l484 shirt1

I really love this shirt! It’s very versatile as well, as the bow and the sleeves are detachable. From what I’m learning about coordinating, this wouldn’t look so good with the skirt above, the solid chucks white and black would clash too much, but would look better with a jumperskirt, like these:

dress2 dress3

Left: JSK L466 Right: Lace Tiered JSK with Rose Corsage (And a review for it here!)

That shirt is also available in black, so I kind of want it in both colours!

Bunny Ear Blouse

shirt2
Black with white lace can be a bit iffy in Lolita fashion, and it’s very cutey for my usual tastes, but I think it’s lovely!

tumblr_mzbfzekCOd1ss0l6co1_500

Pictures from lolita-fashion.tumblr.com

1 Comment

Filed under fashion, kawaii

One response to “Kawaii Adventures : Lolita Fashion

  1. Pingback: Lolita Wardrobe Post | Steve Graduates.

Leave a Reply

