University Checklist

The Independent has posted a list  of 50 Things To Do Before You Leave University.

Having just left University, this is the time when I can look at lists like these and find out if I lived my University experience to the potential The Independent deems acceptable.

Notice that ‘getting a degree’ isn’t actually in this list.

Fellow Uni leavers – Take the quiz too, and find out your scores:

1-20 – You’ve Wasted Your Life.

20-40 – Could Have Done Better.

40-50 – You’ve Unlocked: Personal Growth!

My results of The Independent’s checklist:

1. Feed the campus wildlife

Um, our campus wildlife consist of rabbits that are too fast for anyone, and badgers that will probably kill you if you tried to come them, so no.

2. Have an epic karaoke night at your house using just YouTube, booze, and your natural star quality

Unfortunately, yes in my freshers week.

3. Go on a date with someone you would normally say no to – give them a chance.

I didn’t really go on any dates whilst in uni – I spent the first two years being nervous and/or getting drunk around girls, and next two (miraculously) in a relationship.

4. Hand in an essay early

HA.

5. Busk on campus for a charity (even if you have zero talent)

Nope.

6. Teach someone something

I taught one of my friends to drink in fresher year.

7. Read a book that isn’t study-related

I think I read more of those than ‘study-related’ texts.

8. Hire a bike for a week and see how it works out for you

again – Ha.

9. Study in every library that exists at your university (like you’re ‘on tour’ – but studying)

There’s only one so, nope.

10. Drive to a beach. Swim. (If your uni is miles away from the coast, you’ll just have to stay over)

I took a twenty minute bus journey to the beach and didn’t swim because I value my life.

11. Make your own booze

I mixed many a booze together to make new concoctions of alcohol, but from scratch no.

12. Go to a university sports team’s game. Get vocal and animated with your support.

Nope.

13. Have an incredibly elaborate picnic on a uni green space one lunch time

No, actually.

14. Sit in on a lecture that’s completely out of your field, but that you’ve always been fascinated by

I was dragged to Masters lectures by my partner, on stuff I was mildly interested in.

15. Join a society for something you’ve always wanted to do, but never got round to

… LGBTQ count?

16. Apply for internships and jobs

Yes, sigh.

17. Turn up at a 9 am lecture along with all the other students dressed in your PJs and dressing gowns

No, lol.

18. Go to the careers office and speak to them completely honestly – whatever your thoughts and fears, loves and hates…

No.

19. Go on a weekend country jaunt with friends – get as remote as possible

Nope.

20. Start a conga at a big union night. See how long you can get it, before leading it as far from the music as possible (if you can get it to a house party or another club night, you can officially retire from doing stuff. Your work here is done)

…Nope.

21. Go and see the art departments’ end of year shows

Does my own theatre degree department count?

22. Go to a play put on by the drama department or a uni society

see above.

23. Get involved in a play or some kind of performance (e.g. fashion show, etc.)

see above.

24. Visit all historical building and monuments in your town (including churches)

actually yes, although there’s many of them.

25. Go out sober and dance all night (at least once, repeat as required)

I think so. Let’s just say yes.

26. Swim in a fountain (campus if possible, town will do)

I climbed into an empty fountain?

27. Go paddling on a hot day

nope.

28. Hold your own Come Dine With Me with other student houses

That sounds AMAZING but alas, no.

29. Take part in a protest

I avoided these like plagues. My uni had many of these and they always ended badly.

30. Write in to the uni radio station or newspaper

Something I wish I had done.

31. Dress up! As a fictional character, an animal – anything

All the time!

32. If you think a lecture was particularly good, try and instigate a standing ovation

Ha, nope.

33. Do something – anything! – silly, for charity

I hugged strangers for AIDS or something, silly enough?

34. Give your parents a in depth tour of all the great stuff you do and love at University (It’ll make for an amazing trip for them, and make them feel happy whenever they think of you at uni)

My parents never came to my uni, but I might do one for them of the town when they come down for my graduation.

35. Have a sleepover

Oh, many.

36. Play an elaborate prank on a housemate

We used to put a weird centipede toy in my housemate’s cereal.

37. Win a pub quiz (whatever it takes)

No, though I tried!

38. Make a kite and fly it

Nope.

39. Have an 80s montage house cleaning session, with appropriate outfits and music blaring 

No, but I must do this.

40. Go on a blind date

No dates, and certainly no blind dating, good god.

41. Find out the names of all those people you know far too well to not know their names

Oh man. I did try to do that. I learnt everyone’s names in my drama class at least.

42. Dye your hair

Yes.

43. Sleep out under the stars

Kinda. Pass out count?

44. Make a movie starring your friends and your favourite places

…No. I’m not sure what it means by this. We took plenty of videos on our phones of each other doing stupid things, that count?

45. Celebrate something by doing the classic shake up a bottle of champagne and spraying it all over yourself and everywhere (or at least do it with sparkling wine..!)

That’s really dangerous and messy.

46. Make friends with a student from a country you’ve never known someone from or been to before

America and New Zealand.

47. Go inside (and have a little explore of) every building that is part of the university

There’s a lot of science and lab buildings so that would take a while , and involve me getting shouted at.

48. Become a wise mentor for a Fresher doing your course. Tell them what you wish you’d known

Erm, no.

49. Learn a new sport or instrument or activity that you never thought you would

… … … Anime watching?

50. Get loads of discounts, free things and cool stuff by joining the UK’s largest student money saving club studentbeans.com, of course!

No… and it’s too late to do so now as my student ID expired…

So! My score was: 18/50

That probably means I wasted my years at University and didn’t have an enriched experience of campus life, but to be fair I was probably spending too much time drinking.

1 Comment

Filed under Graduation

One response to “University Checklist

Leave a Reply

